Professional Branding


Can Twitter Grow a Business? I don’t get it!
March 18, 2009, 10:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Almost every day I hear something about Twitter. I hear it on the news, I read it online, I hear it in conversations with my friends, I hear it on the radio, etc. I just don’t get it. I was even more amazed when I saw a blog titled “How to Use Twitter to Grow Your Business”, by Michael Stelzner. How can giving pithy statements grow a business? A “tweet” (an entry in twitter) can only be 140 characters at most. How does this GROW a business? Michael himself stated that he didn’t think twitter made that much sense at first. However, if you read his article, you will see that he is now a fan. Personally, I just don’t get it … STILL.
Tony Hsieh, CEO of zappos.com said, “We use it to help build our brand, not drive direct sales.” Tony gets it.

My bottom line thoughts are that twitter can help a business with a known brand grow, such as zappos. Companies like zappos have instant followers, whether they have helpful thoughts or not. People will give them a look just because of their brand.

Oh, just another reason to work on your professional brand.

However, if you are a small business owner … I just don’t get it. Taking a lot of time to try and get your new brand out there does not seem like a good way to spend your day. If you were going to hire someone, I would not spend a lot of time reading the different tweets of a potential employee. I would spend time and read their resume again and look at their professional portfolio at PersonaVita. Take time to call their references. These indicators will give much more evidence to potential employee possibilities, not a bunch of random 140 character (or less) statements. Just my thoughts.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

